Going Boldly Back to Waxing

Today I learned one of those little things nobody tells you about life after chemo…

 

You know all that money and time and pain-management you have invested over the years in a little beauty ritual known as waxing your legs?  You know how after many years of such investment, the hair started thinning a bit, growing back a little more sparsely, the roots weakened and eventually (say after about 12 years) these little torture sessions became more tolerable?  Well our friend chemo resets the clock on all this.  When your hair grows back – right after you have celebrated the fact that you actually have hair to wax again after months without – you will find that those little roots are as deep and tough and determined as praire grass. Just like they were way back in the beginning of your first foray in to the world of waxing.

 

In a word: YEOUCH!

 

Still, I’m not complaining.  Well I am, obviously, but I’m grateful to have hair at all and what’s the pain of a leg wax compared to the myriad evil side-effects of chemo?

 

To those of you who are hairless: go baldly and bravely onward, knowing you will one day have hair again. 

 

To those who have hair again: go boldly and bravely back to your esthetician knowing you’ve been warned. 

3 Comments

Filed under Living with Breast Cancer

3 responses to “Going Boldly Back to Waxing

  1. goldenray

    That is too funny! Eye brow hairs reset themselves too. Instead of growing back in where they left, they sort of scatter themselves around (I swear I had one growing near my temple). My husband was laughing last week, because there I was, with the tweezers in the bathroom mirror saying ouch ouch ouch with each pluck (removing about 10 of my 20 new eye brow hairs). It feels great to be getting back to normal again :o)

  2. Nell

    Congrats on all the new hair , I recall going to visit my sister in Law Barbra when she was having radiation in Oshawa Cancer center.She asked me could I shave her legs as she was still too under the weather to do it and did not trust Samari Bob her husband to do it. I agreed that one must maintain some normalcy in the face of adversity. So I shaved those little suckers they were tough and had grown in random patches,One of my favorite memories .

  3. marta j

    OMG! It is so nice to hear that someone else too is having issues with hair growing back – my hair apparently decided for me to comeback as Yeti! I cannot remember ever my bikini line being this hairy! Back to lovely bikini waxes! And eyebrows are doing their own thing for the last 3 months – growing like weed or falling out in patches again. I cannot wait for it all to go back to “normal”. Hopefully it won’t be much longer. And yes I agree any of this is so much better than chemo.

Leave a Reply

