Mammograms

Yesterday I went for my first mammogram in more than a year.  These will be routine for me now, and comforting though it is to be tested – to know that someone is still watching the shop, as it were – I’m not sure I hold much stock in mammograms.  Back in the days when we were trying to figure out whether the little almond in my left breast was pure evil or just a bump in the road, I was told my mammogram was inconclusive because my breast tissue was so “dense.”  (No one was more surprised than me to hear my then 36-year-old, post-breast-feeding, rather petite breasts described as “dense and young,”  but that’s what they told me, and I have witnesses.)

 

Anyway, maybe this time around the mammogram will be readable.  Sad as it may be to no longer be able to claim that my flesh abounds with “density and youth,”  I’ll just be happy if the doctors can get a good look at what’s going on in there.  Or, hopefully, what’s not going on.

5 Comments

Filed under Living with Breast Cancer

5 responses to “Mammograms

  1. Christine Dunsmore/Wollerman

    I had my first mammogram last month after battling breast cancer. I was joking that I was going to get my mammogram done in half the time it took last year. Now, after having a mastectomy on October 31, 2008. I was diagnosed with breast cancer last May at the age of 26. I was totally shocked, but determined that I would not be defeated. I am living different now after walking through the journey of cancer. Now as I enter my first year as a survivor, I remember what I was doing this time last year. It was on this day last year that I had my hair cut short as I got ready to embrace my bald head. How quickly a year can pass…I will never be the same.

  2. Christine Dunsmore/Wollerman

    /Users/gregwollerman/Pictures/iPhoto Library/Originals/2008/21-Jul-08_2/6a00d8341c455653ef00e553a44d2f8833.jpg

  3. Jane Hall

    This is just too wierd!!! As I was sitting in a room waiting for my chemo doc to tell me the results of my bloodwork (to make sure my ovaries really are dead and now buried), I was remembering that it was 1 year ago that my GP told me I too had breast cancer. The mammogram said so and now they want another with biopsies. I agree with Christine… you DO tend to live life a little differently. I find that I LOOK at life through new eyes now. I’m also much more out-spoken and I don’t tend to take as much crap as I used to. If I’m not satisfied with something, I want to know why and I want it resolved… now… not in a month or two! LOL I’m not that shy anymore and I WILL NOT allow myself to be walked on. Breast cancer sucks big time… but it has certainly made me stronger!

  4. lcoppen

    We will never be the same; we live our lives differently now… I have to concur — for better or worse we’re changed. I think mostly for better, stronger, and definitely a little punchier!

  5. Kathleen

    Hi Leanne. When you first had your mammogram and the doctors said it was inconclusive because your breast is dense and young, what happened after that? Did you wait for another mammogram? The reason I am asking this is because I have a 1.5cm lump in my left breast that is so deep, I cannot feel it. My doctors told me the same thing as your doctors. And because my breast is also “dense and young”, I have been going for mammograms every 6 months since last July 2008- I have another appointment this Nov 2009. I will be 38 this July. Can you please give me some advise? Thank you and God bless you– I hope you will be presented with good news regarding your new lump on your neck.

Leave a Reply

