For Helen’s 86 Year-Old Sister

Speaking of chutzpah… and if we weren’t, we are now… a lady named Helen recently wrote in asking if I could help her find a pattern for knitted breasts for her 86 year-old sister.  That’s right, knitted breasts. For her 86 year-old sister.

Helen wrote:  “My sister who is 86 has breast cancer and is booked for surgery Nov.2 As she was waiting in the office she noticed a web site that she could get a pattern for a knitted breast which she would like to obtain but I can’t seem to find it. Would you be so kind as to e-mail it to me or tell me were I can get it.”

Well, honestly, who could resist a request like that?  I went website spelunking and I am happy to say that I think I’ve found the pattern in question.  The knitted breasts are called “Tit Bits” and the pattern can be found on an adorable website called knitty.com — complete with accompanying poignant and funny story written by the witty titty knitter herself. Click here to check it out

All strength and courage to Helen’s 86 year-old sister – may her surgery be successful and may she wear her knitted breasts with pride, comfort, and style!

titbitsBEAUTY TitBits photo from knitty.com

2 Comments

Filed under Living with Breast Cancer

2 responses to “For Helen’s 86 Year-Old Sister

  1. Gwen

    OMG, that is SUCH a funny article written by witty titty knitty. I hope Helen laughs as hard as I did. A good belly laugh would give those horrible, evil cells she’s fighting something to think about. Good for you, Leanne, finding the pattern. Who’d a thunk it(or spelunk(ed) it!

  2. Christine

    these are the cutest knitted items i’ve ever seen, and the story is even better. thanks for sharing, leanne.

Leave a Reply

