My Happy Birthday

I had a fabulous birthday that began with Georgia singing Happy Birthday very beautifully and very off-key while she was sitting on the toilet.  Then, at her rather inspired suggestion we all wore party hats leftover from her birthday while we had breakfast together. A little later my mom picked me up and we went to the spa (facial for me, massage for her – today is her birthday! Happy Birthday mummy!!  I love you!) followed by a lovely lunch complete with laughter, tears, and really nice chablis.  

My e-mail inbox was full of birthday wishes and I received calls from several different time zones, including various birthday serenades (in both official languages – impressive!) After a nap and a hot bath, my husband and Georgia came home – she carrying a big bunch of bright orange flowers, and he bringing me gorgeous lingerie & champagne (which, I think we can all agree, go extremely well together.) 

This husband of mine.  He still manages to find me attractive and make me feel beautiful even after I lost all my hair, grew back someone else’s, had a large port implanted in my chest (it looks like I lost a coat button under my skin) and got all carved up and scarred.  The fact that he brings me lingerie makes me want to cry with gratitude: it means he doesn’t see the cancer first — he sees me as a woman first – a whole, and hopefully totally foxy, woman. 

But instead of crying with gratitude I jumped up and down like a hopped-up jack russell terrier and kissed him about 100 times. Then I played with Georgia while he cooked me dinner and we drank champagne. 

Totally dreamy birthday.  Keep ’em coming, I say.

1 Comment

Filed under Living with Breast Cancer

One response to “My Happy Birthday

  1. Jane Hall

    Glad you had a wonderful birthday. Nothing sexier to me than watching a man who knows his way around a kitchen.
    PS. Does he have a brother??? LOL

Leave a Reply

