Long Day Ahead

Well, clearly this crowd loves to party!  The RSVPs are great – keep ‘em coming, we’ve got a guest list to tally and waive around in cancer’s face!  Also, it looks like we’ll be needing to up the tequila order.

Speaking of poisons and elixers, I am off to chemo again tomorrow.  This new schedule is a two-weeks-on /one-week-off cycle, where I get both gemcitabine and cisplatin one week, just gemcitabine the next, and a week off before repeating the cycle.  The cisplatin + gemcitabine day is tomorrow, and it’s a looooong one because they have to dose me up with so much fluid and diuretic to protect my kidneys. This is because “cisplatin can be incredibly hard on your kidneys.”  I love it when they say things like that. Another recent favourite was that “these drugs can cause permanent hearing loss.”  When my doctor told me that I said “Pardon me?”  She didn’t get it.

So, my schedule tomorrow begins at the clinic at 8AM and involves a lot of IV action until about 4PM.  Then I go home and, instead of crashing, I run rampant and eat everything in sight, since I’ll be hopped up on steroids. A day or two later, after the steroids wear off and the side effects begin to kick in, then I crash. And how!

But I don’t mind.  My friend Libby had inoperable pancreatic cancer and this combination of drugs erased it.  Knocked it down to the point where they could in fact operate and, yes, she spent six hours on the operating table getting rid of the scraps, but the point is that she got rid of it.  All of it. More than a year ago. I don’t know about you but I’m impressed.  Also hopeful.

Eight hours in the chemo ward may not be anybody’s idea of a great day, but it doesn’t mean it’s not a day well spent. Bring it, I say.

3 Comments

Filed under Living with Breast Cancer

3 responses to “Long Day Ahead

  1. Georg W.

    How about we snick in with a bag full of jello shots at the hospital, just to keep you company. In turns of course, not rouse the nurses. 8 hours can go by fast with jello shots. Or better yet, we can fill up an I.V. bag with tequila and hide the feeder line so you can fill up as you need, orally of course.

    P.S. You can tell everyone the other news.

  2. Arlene Redmond

    Hi Leanne
    I am another of your fan club from afar (Connecticut) and a colleague/friend of your father’s. So, I have been following your progress–word chosen deliberately–through both him and your blog. You are amazing. Your writing, spirit, and sense of humor are amazing. The entry about the child expert was really interesting and valuable. I am a breast cancer surviver of almost 17 years and was diagnosed as stage 3. My husband is currently going through prostate cancer stuff and both of my parents died of various and sundry cancers. My sister has had BCa twice. I think of hers as BCa-lite, though. She gets a little radiation, perhaps after a lumpectomy, and she is done. My experience was quite different although does not come any where close to your saga. I send you very positive vibes, wishes and prayers and I will be at the party with bells on! Happy and HEALTHY new year.

  3. Leanne

    Thanks for your comment Arlene & for sharing your experience. I LOVE hearing about 17-year survivors! You’re offically added to the guest list; just watch out for George when you get to the party — he’s hell bent on slipping everyone jello shots to celebrate his recent victory with our imperfect health care system!
    l.

Leave a Reply

