The Things That Friends Will Do

My friend Graham and I have known each other since we were two years old; our moms were best friends before his mom died after 14 years of ferociously and bravely fighting breast cancer (metastatic breast cancer for 7 of those.)

I know – the coincidence of my diagnoses is a little freaky.  And I loved Graham’s mom to the brink of total adoration, but I swear I never meant to emulate her quite so literally.

Anyway, Graham and his family have been incredibly supportive of me, and so when he one day said “You know I would do anything for you – you just have to ask and I’m there,” I knew he really meant it.  And my evil twin knew an opportunity when she saw it: she arched an evil eyebrow and said “Anything?” and then lapsed into deranged, villainous laughter, “Mwa-ha-haaaaaa! Mwa-ha-ha-HAAAA….”

Well, not really.  I actually said, “I’d love to just hang out sometime. Would you come get a pedicure with me?”

And so it was that my totally non-metrosexual lifelong friend Graham had his very first pedicure.  He was very brave.  I suspect he even enjoyed it.

Oh the extremes to which friends will go to show you they love you!

Thanks, old friend.

 
 

 

 

*Anyone else ever notice how pedicure chairs look a lot like chemo chairs with little bathtubs attached to them?  Perhaps the chemo clinic could get a few tubs attached, invite some estheticians in, et voila: chemo-pedis! Genius?  I think yes!

3 Comments

Filed under Living with Breast Cancer

3 responses to “The Things That Friends Will Do

  1. Pam

    beautiful – what a fabulous friend!

  2. Deb Alleyne

    You’re a star, Leanne…

  3. Petra from germany

    It is good to see you smiling and it much more important for you to have those amazing friends. Hope you remember me. I am still with you and wish you all the best… hope you will remember me. I would love to do something for you but please know I really take care of you. Sorry for the bad english…I just try! Miss you.. love Petra

Leave a Reply

