Let’s Hear it for Motor City

Detroit said YES!

It’s a clinical trial testing the promising TDM1 in combination with two other drugs, and the doctor leading the study is a very well-respected and renowned oncologist.  Plus, I spoke to her on the phone and I really liked her moxie. Detroit is the closest-to-home of all the cities I have applied to – and we have almost-family friends there, which is a great comfort to me as I consider being away from my own little family for long stretches.

BUT…

I am not in yet.  I still have to qualify for the study, which means passing a barrage of physical exams.  My most specific fear is that these migraine auras I’ve been getting and the blurred vision I sometimes experience portend brain metastasis, which would exclude me from the trial.  On the other hand, I’m totally exhausted and all I do is work on a computer all day long, so maybe it’s just eye-strain.  I was saying to a friend earlier today, it’s funny when it gets to the point that the idea of cancer in the brain isn’t scary in and of itself but rather because it might mean I’m not eligible for a clinical trial. (Well, I guess that’s funny surreal, not funny ha ha.)

AND…

There’s another problem. Assuming I qualify, my place on the study will not be open for another five weeks from now. 

Five weeks.

I think we all know I can’t go another five weeks without treatment. I barely have the strength to type this post. And if I fear brain metastasis now, I can be fairly certain of further metastasis to somewhere in five more weeks without any treatment whatsoever.

The good news is that this trial doesn’t require patients to be treatment-free for four weeks prior to start-date, only three.  So I need to access some kind of treatment now, for the next two weeks, and then stop 21 days before the start date of the trial.  This is precisely what the study doctor recommended on the phone this afternoon.  In fact her first questions were all about how I’m feeling and what we can do to improve things before I begin the trial.

So, what indeed can we do?  Radiation? The last-straw chemotherapy? A combo of approved drugs not currently approved in combination?  I have a call scheduled with my oncologist when she’s out of clinic later today to discuss the options. 

Stay tuned…

9 Comments

Filed under Living with Breast Cancer

9 responses to “Let’s Hear it for Motor City

  1. Gwen

    Dear Leanne:
    I am so glad that you have found a clinical trial, and one that is relatively close to you. No doubt it will be a very anxious time for you, waiting to hear if you have been accepted into the trial. But you know how many people are rooting for you. All that positive energy directed towards you and your family must surely have positive results. I do hope that your conversation with your oncologist today was useful, and that you’ll get further treatment to control things in the interim. I also hope that you will be able to rest for a while, and to regain some of your energy.

  2. Andrew Giles

    Keeping my fingers crossed!;)

  3. Christine

    hi leanne, i hope that this trial accepts you, and if not this one, then the next one. you are the epitome of courage, strength, and resilience…if anyone can beat this, it’s you, leanne. you are in my thoughts every day.

  4. Jen T

    You go girl!

  5. Carol W.

    Moxie. I like that. But, if anyone has moxie it’s you! Regardless, sounds like the perfect doctor for you! I don’t quite understand why, once you qualify, you have to wait for a “place” in the study…I thought they wanted to fill them up. Don’t relent. Keep pushing. We’re all behind you. xo

  6. Doona

    Leanne, you’ve got so much moxie– this is meant to be. You are going to get into that study and it’s going to be good.

    Yikes, I get eye strain on the computer a lot. I bet that is what you have.

    Sending good vibes and positive messages from the Universe for you.

  7. Lisa B.

    Crossing everything I’ve got for you.

  8. Katie

    This is a massive step in the right direction. Just like Lisa B, I’ve got everything crossed for you.
    Take care.

  9. Katie Osler

    Oh PRAISE be!!!! The universe is pulling for you, just hang in there and get some super drugs to carry you through those 21 days.

    Although, like most things with our oncologists, they seem to give with one hand, and take away with the other. As long as they’re giving more than they take away, we’re moving in the right direction.

    There is a sea of healing energy and strength out there for you, rest on the gentle waves and let it get you to the trial.

Leave a Reply

